Candy Crush Saga: Just Say No

It’s been almost two weeks since I wrote a new blog post…. BAD CHRISTINE! Although it is entirely my fault (I’ve been distracted and, honestly, unmotivated – whoops!), I have chosen this time to discuss one of many sources of distraction:

CANDY CRUSH SAGA…..
ccs

I have recently developed an unfortunate love/hate relationship and seriously INTENSE addiction… to that devil which is Candy Crush Saga. I’m not sure exactly when the game was released, but I know that at first, I resisted. All of those stupid invites from people I hadn’t talked to in ages, I just ignored them.

Then one day…I found myself bored and a bit curious. I saw an invite from one of my close friends, and decided “well hey, she’s playing it, and it is summertime, after all, so why not?”

This is about the time where one of those acronyms I refuse to use, “SMH” (Shaking My Head), would fit in nicely.

I should’ve known I was addicted when, after one week of playing, I had already passed the level my best friend was on, who had been playing for a month. Bad. News. Bears.

I should’ve known I was addicted when I downloaded the game on my phone so that when I ran out of lives on facebook, I could continue attempting to beat the level on my mobile device.

I really should’ve known I was addicted when I downloaded the game on my iPad without connecting my facebook so that I could play and beat the easier levels when I was feeling downtrodden and lame after being stuck for a few days.

But it wasn’t until that moment at 2:00 in the morning, when I was lying in bed next to my peacefully sleeping husband, trying to beat yet another stubborn level, looking up helpful hints, and watching video advertisements in order to receive more lives, that I realized… WOW, I have a problem.

“I can stop … This will be my last time playing this game.” That lasted about 8 hours of sleep.

How did it happen? How did I let it get so bad?

…They trap you. It’s well planned out, sneaky, and clever.

Candy Crush is basically a game like Bejeweled, where you have to match 3 or more of certain same colored objects to one another in order to remove them from the board and score points. However, King.com games (creators of Candy Crush and other “Saga” games) ingeniously plants new obstacles and challenges to make it much more intense than a regular little game of Bejeweled.

The first ten or so levels are fine, you’re just learning how to match the different candies to one another. Then, you start learning how certain shaped pairings, like an L-shape, T-shape, Line-of-5, etc. can create EXTRA MAGICAL CANDIES that explode in different directions!

And that’s just the beginning… as you continue moving through the levels and stages, there’s jelly (at least, I think that’s what it’s supposed to be) that you have to blow through before you can use the candy hiding inside of it, double layers of jelly, whipped cream that you have to blow through, licorice, and the dreaded CHOCOLATE. This game has made me really strongly dislike chocolate. The chocolate not only blocks you from making the necessary matches, but it grows. It takes over your candies, and if you’re not careful, your board has been conquered by dark brown squares.
CCSCHOC
Lame.

Sometimes, the goals are different. For instance, the basic goal is to reach a certain number of points by matching enough candies together. Certain levels require you to break up all of the jelly. Other levels, which I abhor, ask you to bring down the ingredients (apples or cherries) to the bottom of the screen. Some are timed, others give you a certain number of moves in order to beat the level. As you move further into the depths of the game, the board starts to change. What once was a simple square shape becomes four separate square shapes, or a rectangle with two vertical lines of jelly on either side that you have to burst, not connected to the main area.

candycrush137
There’s even one where the candies in the board are in the shape of a diamond, with transporters that connect the bottom of each little section to the top of a new section, and you have a measly little 18 moves to bring the ingredients to the very left side of the diamond! WHAT?!

The thing is, as much as I hate it and feel frustrated when I’m stuck on a level for a few days, it feels SO FREAKING GOOD to finally beat the damn thing. This rush of joy and accomplishment soars through your body and you get a moment of “yeah, that’s right! I BEAT YOU, SUCKA!”

… And then two levels later, you’re stuck again.

It’s been almost two months and 144 levels. I’ve managed to whittle it down to playing only at night, right before bed. I’m hoping that when the semester begins, I’ll be so overloaded with self-improvement, music learning, and some serious schooling to do, that I will be able to quit cold turkey…for the betterment of my life.

So, what’s my point?

Kids, don’t play Candy Crush Saga. Just say no.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

